SPUDM25 logo




August 16-20, 2015


For more information please contact: spudm25@eadm.eu

History of the Award

In 2006, EADM created the Jane Beattie Scientific Recognition Award to honour the memory of our late colleague, Jane Beattie.

The award will be made every two years and is intended for researchers who have recently completed the first stages of their careers – defined operationally by those who are 5 to 10 years post-PhD (see below).

The award will be for a research paper that deals with the topic of decision making as broadly understood within the SPUDM tradition.

The award is bestowed in recognition of “innovation in decision research”, as broadly understood within the SPUDM tradition. In practical terms, this means that candidates should submit to the committee (a) a statement of 1,000 words or less that makes the case for their innovation; (b) one paper in which the innovation is presented for a scientific audience; and (c) a copy of their curriculum vitae. Candidates should also provide a statement as to when, and from where they received their PhDs.

To be eligible for this award, candidates must have completed their PhDs no sooner than 5 years before the end of the most recent SPUDM meeting and no more than 10 years before the same date.

Winners will receive a prize of 1,000 euros, a certificate, and be asked to make a presentation of their research at SPUDM.

The paper will be evaluated by a committee appointed by the Board of EADM. The 2015 comittee is comprised of Cilia Witteman (chair), Fergus Bolger, Mirta Galesic (the 2013 winner) abd Anton Kühberger. To be considered for this award, papers and statements should be submitted before April 17th, 2015, to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .

Previous winners

2013 Mirta Galesic Max Planck Institute for Human Development, Germany
Committee: Nicolao Bonini (Chair), Fergus Bolger, Danny Oppenheimer and Barbara Fasolo
2011 Danny Oppenheimer UCLA Anderson School of Management, United States
Committee: Ilana Ritov (Chair), Marcel Zeelenberg, Ellen Peters and Nicolao Bonini
2009 Ellen Peters Decision Research, Oregon, United States
Committee: Robin Hogarth (Chair), Marcel Zeelenberg, Nigel Harvey, Ilana Ritov
2007 Marcel Zeelenberg Tilburg University, The Netherlands
Committee: Robin Hogarth (Chair), Nigel Harvey and Oswald Huber