SPUDM25 logo




August 16-20, 2015


For more information please contact: spudm25@eadm.eu

Rules of Application

We are pleased to announce that the call for papers for the de Finetti prize is now open. This prestigious award is one of the oldest given out by EADM. The prize includes a diploma and €750. In addition the SPUDM conference fee will be waived. The prize is for work done as a PhD student, even if the person has now graduated.

The rules are:

  • The PhD student should be the sole or first author and the work should be mainly that of the student. If co-authored, the paper is accompanied by a statement from the co-author(s) to the effect that the student is credited as the primary source of ideas and the main author of this paper;
  • The paper should be unpublished at the moment of submission for the de Finetti competition;
  • The length of the paper is the size of a regular journal publication e.g., 25 pages/5000 words. A complete thesis will not be accepted;
  • Only one paper may be submitted;
  • Only PhD students who did not have their PhD at the time of the last SPUDM conference (August 2013) are eligible.

The papers will be evaluated by a committee appointed by the Board of EADM. The 2015 committee is comprised of Barbara Summers (chair), Dan R Schley (2013 winner), Tilmann Betsch, and Alan Sanfey.

To be considered for this award, papers and statements should be submitted before 30 April 2015, to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Previous winners

2013 Dan Raphael Schley Ohio State University, USA
2011 Shoham Choshen-Hillel Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel
2009 Benjamin Scheibehenne University of Basel, Switzerland
2007 Xianchi Dai INSEAD, France
2005 Loran Nordgren Universiteit van Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2003 Greg Barron Technion – Israel Institute of Technology, Israel
2001 Martijn Willemsen Eindhoven Technical University, The Netherlands
2001 Nicola Bown University of Leeds, United Kingdom
1999 Mandeep K. Dhami City University London, United Kingdom
1997 Johanna Kordes-de Vaal Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1995 Peter Roelofsma Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands